Monday, June 8, 2009

Election Day is tomorrow - It's time to make our voices heard!

Dear friends and allies,

Tomorrow is election day, and all signs are pointing to a change in government. On Tuesday we have the chance to elect MLAS who are committed to addressing the needs of women and girls in our province - but only if we vote them in and hold them accountable once elected.

It's time to demand real changes that reverse, rather than exacerbate, poverty and violence against women. We must fight for affordable housing and childcare, more accessible education and training, a living minimum wage, quality and affordable health care, adequate funding for women's centres and transition houses, and a social assistance program that allows women and their families to live with dignity.

Tomorrow let's get out and vote for change! WE CAN elect a woman-positive legislature in Nova Scotia!

Here is the updated chart/list displaying the number of candidates supporting fair, competitive salaries for women's centres (now 72 in total).

Annapolis – Jamie F. L. Spinney (Green), Stephen McNeil (Liberal)

Antigonish – Miles Tompkins (Liberal), Maurice Smith (NDP)


Bedford-Birch Cove – Kelly Regan (Liberal), Brian Mosher (NDP)

Cape Breton Centre

Cape Breton North

Cape Breton Nova

Cape Breton South – Cathy Theriault (Green), Wayne McKay (NDP)

Cape Breton West

Chester-St. Margaret’s – Ryan Cameron (Green), Jo-Ann Grant (Liberal), Denise Peterson-Rafuse (NDP)


Colchester-Musquodobit Valley – Willy Versteeg (Liberal), Gary Burrill (NDP)

Colchester North – Judy Davis (Green), Lorenda Ebbett (Liberal)

Cole Harbour – Tony Ince (Liberal), Darrell Dexter (NDP)

Cole Harbour-Eastern Passage – Denise Menard (Green)

Cumberland North – Aviva Silburt (Green), Ernest Fage (Independent)

Cumberland South – Don Tabor (NDP)

Dartmouth East – Andrew Younger (Liberal), Joan Massey (NDP)

Dartmouth North – Trevor Zinck (NDP)

Dartmouth South-Portland Valley – David Croft (Green), Marilyn More (NDP)


Eastern Shore – Sid Prest (NDP)

Glace Bay – Todd Pettigrew (Green), Myrtle Campbell (NDP)

Guysborough-Sheet Harbour – Amy Florian (Green), Lloyd Hines (Liberal), Jim Boudreau (NDP)

Halifax Atlantic – Anthony Rosborough (Green), Jim Hoskins (Liberal)

Halifax Chebucto

Halifax Citadel – Ryan Watson (Green), Gerry Walsh (Liberal)

Halifax Clayton Park – Amanda Hester (Green), Diana Whalen (Liberal), Debbie Hum (PC)

Halifax Fairview – Jane Hester (Green), Brad Armitage (Liberal)

Halifax Needham – Maureen MacDonald (NDP)

Hammonds Plains-Upper Sackville – Shawn Redmond (Green), Mat Whynott (NDP)

Hants East

Hants West – Sheila Richardson (Green), Barbara Gallagher (NDP)

Inverness – Nathalie Arsenault (Green), Michael MacIsaac (NDP)

Kings North

Kings South – Ramona Jennex (NDP)

Kings West – Leo Glavine (Liberal)

Lunenburg – Pam Birdsall (NDP)

Lunenburg West – Emily Richardson (Green), Mark Furey (Liberal), Gary Ramey (NDP)

Pictou Centre – Jim Lindsey (Green), Ross Landry (NDP), Pat Dunn (PC)

Pictou East – Robbie White (Green), J. Ed MacDonald (PC)

Pictou West – Paul Landry (Liberal), Charlie Parker (NDP)

Preston – Janet Sutcliffe (NDP)

Queens – Stuart Simpson (Green), Vicki Conrad (NDP)


Sackville-Cobequid – Jessica Alexander (PC)



Truro-Bible Hill – Bob Hagell (Liberal), Lenore Zann (NDP)

Victoria-The Lakes –Waverly-Fall River Beaver Bank – Percy Paris (NDP)

Yarmouth – David Mooney (Liberal), David Olie (NDP), Richard Hurlburt (PC)

If you are a political candidate and would like to be included on this list, please send an email to

No comments:

Post a Comment